Five Fast Facts (#7)

Posted: November 17, 2011 in Fun Stuff, Words

1. Thanksgiving is next week, and I am pumped. I love Thanksgiving. It’s my favorite holiday because it’s the one day of the year I can eat my weight in turkey and potatoes without going to a Luby’s.

2. I’ve got an idea for a three-post series that I think is gonna be really good, but I’m gonna wait a couple weeks to put it up. I’ve already got some stuff lined up for next week, and I want it to get its due attention.

3. I’m not sure if the correct spelling is “homie” or “homey.” I feel like it’s probably the first one, as the second refers to comfortable, like a home. And I know that asking totally ruins my street cred, but in my defense, slang terms and phonetics do not always go hand in hand. (By the way, is “jive turkey” still a thing people say?)

4. Water Forward is another cool way to provide clean water to those who need it. I was invited in by Tyler Stanton, and now I get to invite some people in. More details on that coming soon.

5. I do not understand America’s taste in pop culture. Terrible music and TV shows make millions, while good, talented, creative, innovative stuff goes unnoticed. (And I’m not still ranting about “Community” being taken out of NBC’s schedule, though that is one instance.) Maybe I’m a snob, or an old fart, but I just don’t get it. More on this later.

So, what are you up to?

Comments
  1. Irvine says:

    I believe it is “homey” due to my past obsession of “In Living Color” and Homey D. Clown.

  2. Edwin Christian says:

    I love this time of the year also, Thanksgiving especially. I make my own homemade cranberry sauce and have volunteered to roast the turkey, dressing and gravy for the family get together. Since I love to cook this is my time to do my part for such a wonderful family.

    I know Jared couldn’t possibly eat his weight in turkey and potatoes, it would double his size and he does watch his mid section pretty close.

    I have not understood the new media or music for years, so I just turn them off.

    I love to sing and would love to be invited to sing a special service at a church where they took a love offering to be donated to the local food pantry in the name of the church. I sing the old gospels and let the Spirit of God lead me in what songs to sing. I would end the session with the Lords Prayer.

Leave a Reply

