I got so sad last night

Posted: November 15, 2011 in Fun Stuff, Words

At about 7:30 last night, I was preparing to go grocery shopping. My list was made, my shoes were on, but I decided to sit and read twitter for a few minutes before I walked out the door. Here’s what I saw:

It was like someone threw a block of frozen tears through the windows of my heart. This was our year, Texans fans. Great quarterback, great running game, great defense, weak division, soft schedule- the playoffs were a lock and a deep playoff run was likely. And now our hopes rest on Matt Leinart. My friend Craig was kind enough to text me Leinart’s career stats: 14 TDs, 20 INTs. Career passer rating of 69. Hasn’t played in an NFL game since ’09. Then I read this:

Community is one of the funniest shows on TV, and a staple in our household. It is brilliantly original, laugh out loud funny, and continues to get better. Now, NBC has yanked it from their lineup to make room for what? Whitney? Some new show about Broadway? Come on, NBC- CBS already has the corner market on bad television. Let Community live!

Needless to say, I wandered around the store in a melancholy fog. One of the items on my list was cake mix for a church dinner we’re having this week. I stood in the baking aisle for ten minutes, staring blankly at Duncan Hines boxes while thinking about schedules- football and TV.

Knox nailed it: These are dark times, indeed.

Comments
  1. April says:

    Ha!! Dark times, indeed. While I am not an NFL fan, you have my complete sympathies.

    Community? Now, that’s just a TRAGEDY. I have fallen in love with that show. Why do shows like Grey’s seem to last forever (and this is coming from a former Grey’s addict) and hilarious and original shows like Community disappear? Tragic.

  2. John says:

    What makes me sad is seeing a grown man care so much…

  3. Edwin Christian says:

    I am not one who lives for Football, Baseball or sports in general and I certainly do not live for what’s on television on any given night. Maybe it is because when I was growing up we didn’t have much television to watch and what was on was for the old people.
    We found other ways to entertain ourselves, most of the time reading a good book or at church. Sometimes we would play outside, hide and seek or kick the can or any other thing we could come up with. There just weren’t that many toys around our neighborhood and we made the best of what we could find.
    We never worried about dark times, we just did everyday the things that needed done in order to have time to play with our friends or to pick up a good book and read the evening away. I feel sorry for the kids growing up today for they have everything and don’t know what it means to have nothing.

    E.

  4. kenny says:

    I feel your pain about Community. That said the show about Broadway looks amazing. Katherine McPhee. Yes please.
    Whitney and 30 Rock over Community? No way…

  5. TMZ says:

    Community reminds me of Arrested Development in that it’s the single comedy people rave about but nobody watches. I love it so much but fear it will go the way of AD and become way more popular with an afterlife on Netflix.

    Whitney hate.

  6. Travis Maines says:

    This is what you get for all the unnecessary hatred you spew towards NCIS…

    Community was an awful, terrible, lame, boring, predictable, no good, sorry excuse for a television show!!!! (I actually have never seen a single second of footage and write this out of bitterness towards the previously mentioned NCIS comments.)

    As for the Houston Texans:
    The good news is that it will be difficult for them to miss the playoffs due to their 7-3 start and the terrible division that they are in.
    The bad news is that Matt Leinart will do everything in his power to see that they manage to miss the playoffs. At the very least, he’ll make sure they lose in the first round of the playoffs.

    • Jared says:

      “Community was an awful, terrible, lame, boring, predictable, no good, sorry excuse for a television show!!!! (I actually have never seen a single second of footage and write this out of bitterness towards the previously mentioned NCIS comments.)”

      I could tell you’ve never seen it because A) it is anything but predictable, and B) trust me, you would love it.

      P.S. Liz was watching NCIS last night, and it confirmed everything I’ve previously stated about it.

Leave a Reply

