Baseball

Posted: June 14, 2011 in Words

Basketball season is over. Being a Rockets fan, I hadn’t had a horse in the race in over a month, but being a sane and logical person, I obviously wanted to see the Heat lose and the old guys veterans on the Mavs win a championship. But now it’s over, and the long, summer sports drought has begun.

“But, Jared- what about baseball? You love the Astros!” You’re right, imaginary friend offering words of encouragement. But it’s hard to be excited about a team who is this bad. How bad, you ask? As of this morning, my beloved Astros are literally the worst team in baseball. They’re the only team in the league under .400 in winning percentage. They stink.

I’ll stick with them, because love is patient and hopes all things and endures all things. I’ve been a fan all my life. I was even a member of the “Astros Buddies” as a kid and went to AstroFest at the AstroHall next to the Astrodome. But honestly, baseball is just a placeholder between the end of basketball and the start of football. The season is too long, the games move slowly, and my team is abysmal. It’s going to be a long, long sports summer.

Here are a few suggestions to improve major league baseball:

  • Shorten the season. 162 anything is too many.
  • Speed up the games. Give the pitchers a “shot clock”. Speed up pitching changes. One minute between innings is plenty of time. Let’s move!
  • Salary cap. I hate that the Yankees spend a billion dollars a year, while Houston’s payroll couldn’t fill up the gas tank on a’ 94 Corolla. Sure, the Yankees have more rings than anybody else- BECAUSE THEY HAVE MORE MONEY.

What changes would you make?

P.S. Congratulations to Judy Hall for winning the Eric Peters CD!

Comments
  1. Edwin Christian says:

    I agree with all your suggestions. I might add one comment on the Astros, when you are at the bottom there is only one direction to go and that is up! Keep the faith Jared, they have a lot of room above them.

    I am glad to see Judy win, I cast my vote for her so everyone got a vote except me. She deserves the win!

    • Jared says:

      I like your optimism, Ed.

    • jlhall1107 says:

      YAY!! I needed something positive today!! Thank you for the vote Edwin, and anyone else voted for me! Let’s see, should I pretend I have just won an Oscar, Emmy, Tony, Grammy, and thank everyone who had anything to do with my success in winning this award!!! BARF….don’t think so! But I am thankful to have won! 🙂
      Oh, and I enjoy baseball, but not as much as I do football! So, for me, basketball (which I really don’t care at all for!) is just a program on another channel that I don’t turn to! As for baseball, we watch the playoffs and the World Series, provided there is a team playing that we actually don’t mind watching, and on rare occasions we will watch an occasional regular season game, or maybe just part of it.
      But, I do enjoy my football!! I’m wondering about this season though, with the strike going on. I like my Cowboys and my Texans, and one day, I will actually go to one of the preseason games where they are playing each other. It will have to be after I win the lottery though, because I am not paying the price they ask for tickets to go and sit in the nosebleed section and watch ants play! That is about the size of the players from the top of the seats! But, that would require that I purchase a lottery ticket from time to time, now wouldn’t it! Oh well.

  2. dianemkeller says:

    My husband would not agree with you at all. Baseball is life in our house. Basketball is the placeholder between the end of football and the beginning of baseball. The best part of the year is when baseball and football overlap.

    Definitely agree about the Yankees though.

  3. Matthew says:

    The Astros are about to get booted to the AL anyways. They’re gonna be bad for a long time. Just between you and me (errr..and anyone else who reads this) baseball is sooo boring. They’ve gotta add something to spice it up. I suggest this:

    1. Legalize steroids- cause chicks love the long ball and these guys careers are shorter than waiting in line at the DMV.
    2. Aluminum bat. Maybe even adamantium bats.
    3. Bigger strike zones
    4. Cheerleaders? As long as they don’t talk or shout anything.
    5. Way less games.
    6. 5 game playoff series…especially the first two rounds.

    I think that’s all I’ve got for now.

  4. College baseball now has a shot clock so that the pitcher automatically gets a ball if he takes more than 20 seconds on a pitch – but it only counts when there’s nobody on base. Haven’t heard of it being used very much, and I listened on the radio for most of the season.

    I just wish college baseball lasted longer, or that I could pick up a baseball game I cared about on the radio.

  5. jmontgomery says:

    As far as I am concerned I would rather saw off my toes with a Case brand pocket knife than watch basketball or football. Baseball is the only sport; except maybe bocce. 🙂 There is something special about baseball that the other major sports will never be able to capture.

    Be patient, my Rangers went through some tough years. Look at em now…

    It’s all about the AL West ya’ll!

  6. granna07 says:

    Congratulations to Judy! At least the person I voted for won!

  7. I have to agree about baseball. I’ve been disappointed every time I think about sports only to realize it’s all there is to watch.

    I like watching playoffs off most sports even if I don’t follow the rest of the season (or golf majors) so maybe hockey could adjust to fill more summer gap.

    As far as baseball, make going to the park cheaper because it’s horrible to watch on television. But being there at the park would be great if it didn’t cost me bodily organs sold on the black market (and with this economy the going rate for a kidney ain’t what it used to be).

    • Jared says:

      At the risk of sounding like an old man: I remember as a kid, we could get outfield seats for $4. I blame the government. (Not sure why. It just feels right.)

Leave a Reply

