Create Something

Posted: May 31, 2011 in Words

On the “About” page of this blog, I wrote “I think God is infinitely creative.” Since typing that sentence, I’ve done a little research and found that the Bible talks about God creating something no less than fifty times. The very first words of the Bible are “In the beginning, God created…”(Gen 1:1) It’s mentioned half a dozen times in Psalms; Isaiah is ripe with “He created”s; the New Testament reminds us again and again that God created all things, and is in the process of re-creating it all. I’m not making this stuff up, guys. God is a creator.

Now, watch this: When God created man, how did he do it?

“Then God said, ‘Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals, and over all the creatures that move along the ground.’ So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.” (Gen 1:26-27)

Three times in two verses- the very first time man is even mentioned in scripture- it says we were created in God’s image. (Four times if you count “likeness.”) Now, do the math. God is creative + You were created in God’s image = __________.

So what are you doing with that? Are you a creator or just a consumer? It’s so easy to be the latter. The “information age” we live in has turned us all into “information gluttons.” We consume and consume until our eyes are red and our fingers ache from tapping a mouse or swiping a screen. If clicks were calories, Dateline NBC would be doing a special report on us.

I want to challenge you to change that. Don’t just consume- Create.

This weekend, we spent a few days at our family’s deer camp out in the woods. Liz’s cousin was there doing something ridiculous, but creative. I didn’t get to see the finished product, but her plan was to paint a large frame, somehow glue sticks and hooks on it, and use it to hang her jewelry. (I’m sure it turned out awesome, even though it sounds like something a crazy person or four year old would think of.)

Every painting you admire was done by an artist who took a brush and some colors and applied their mind and hands to the work of creation.

Every song you love was written and performed by people playing instruments, writing lyrics, turning ideas in something consumable.

Every blog post you read was written by someone. A human sat down at a computer, put together some words and thoughts and ideas, and created a short essay to be read by other people.

Every single one of us, regardless of ability or talent, has a spark of creativity inside. What we choose to do with it is what this post is about. You should cultivate it. You should fuel it and fan it until you can’t keep it contained. Don’t be satisfied with admiring other people’s work- create something admirable. Write a poem or short story. Write a song. Paint a picture. Draw a flower. Make a scrapbook. Glue some sticks to a picture frame. Grab a Pringles can and Kleenex box and make a ukulele.

You were made in the image of an infinitely creative God, so go be creative.

Comments
  1. Edwin Christian says:

    Amen and well said! We all have creative minds, it is time to use them for the Glory of God. Everything we do is look upon by someone, so lets do with what we have been blessed with and bring out God’s love in our actions.

  2. April says:

    I really think I was born to create. It’s one of the reasons why I loved children’s ministry so much. I was paid to help children explore God through creating and His creation. Even now, I draw (more than just BDB), paint, sew, write, and do anything I can to be creative. It invigorates me in a way that no traditional job can. When I worked at a church, creating media art thrilled me.

    I think that God wants us to explore and create in a positive way. I don’t know why “play” has gotten a bad rap in the Christian communities. I think it’s one of God’s awesome gifts and it’s for more than just children!

  3. Travis Maines says:

    I am beginning the process of “creating” a third bedroom in my house. We’ve had this spare room that served as an office/storage/play/man cave area. It had these huge cabinets and some sinks in it because the previous owner used it as a bakery. I took the cabinets and the sinks out and will soon (hopefully) put up a wall, lay some tile and laminate flooring and thus have a nice new office and a true 3rd bedroom. Now if only I had a buddy that had experience laying tile and owed me a favor or two…

    • Jared says:

      I don’t have experience laying tile. What I did have was a buddy with experience who owed me a favor or two…but he moved to Dallas. I’ll gladly come help mess things up. You know where to find me.

  4. Mandy says:

    I created…3 beautiful humans & then they’ve drained all creativeness from me. Hopefully I will find it once again when my energy comes back to me. But for now, I think I may just have to be a consumer. BUT I am consuming so that I can share my knowledge with my offspring (& some little ones I keep in the nursery). I AM teaching the 3&4 yr olds in VBS. That may take some creativity.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    I love you, and your creativity spurs me to be more creative. At the moment, I have a two week sabbatical planned to begin next week where my brain will be shut off. After that…I will begin to get my juices a’flowin.

  6. Gina says:

    Have you read Culture Making?….about bringing creativity into the church and not buying into this thinking of adapting the world’s creativity (culture)…. but believing just what you said about us being created to be creative. It’s a good read if you haven’t already.

  7. Jenni says:

    I started listing all the various creative phases in my lifetime, then decided I may sound a bit like a braggart (I have been around a while!). At this moment in time, my one fun & favorite creative outlet is scrapbooking! I have my own room that I can retreat to. I put on Christian music & get lost in all the photos, glue, stickers, cardstock, etc! It is a very invigorating feeling after several hours of creating! Oh, and I do share the art of scrapbooking with others—I’ve been able to help several friends make creations of their own!

  8. John says:

    I am reminded of a creative roommate I had once. He had a collection of over 300 t-shirts. As it turns out, that was just stupid. He has a blog now, so things are looking up.

  9. JBen says:

    Have you ever read “Culture Making” by Andy Crouch? I highly recommend it if this topic is something that is interesting to you.

Leave a Reply

