Win a book!

Posted: May 26, 2011 in Words

This is so simple, you’d be a fool not to enter. I’m giving away a copy of the funniest  a funny  a book I read recently, Everyday Absurdities by Tyler Stanton.

All kidding aside, this book is a lot of fun. It’s a collection of stuff he’s posted on his blog, the difference being that instead of clicking “Next” you just turn the page. (I laughed til I cried reading “An Open Letter to Dental Hygienists”)

Wanna win it? Leave a comment with the book you’re reading right now, or one you recently finished, and sell us on it. Tell us why we should read it, too. Imagine that your very life depends on other people reading that book. I’ll choose the winner by writing everyone’s name on a grape, throwing them in the air, and catching one in a cup. Good luck!

Comments
  1. jlhall1107 says:

    I just want to see the names written on grapes!! Let’s see, I recently read something, I can’t recall the name of the book, but the author is unmistakeable. Her name is OPRAH!!! HAHAHA, no I did NOT read a book by Oprah!! I’ll get back to ya on one I am reading or have read. LOL

  2. Debbie Cordova says:

    “Waking Up in Dixie” Atlanta native Haywood Smith currently lives in Massachusetts. She has one son, currently in medical school who is “married to a wonderful, fearless Christian woman,” and a close family that includes her mother, three sisters, and a brother.

    The Red Hat Club was on the New York Times Bestseller List. The paperback edition of Queen Bee of Mimosa Branch appeared on both the USA Today list and the New York Times Extended Bestseller List.

    I read the other two books and really enjoyed them. A fun read.

  3. kathy says:

    Hmmmm, Jared, I’m now a Red Hat Lady!!! It’s something you will never be!!!!! It’s a girls world!

  4. […] If you like words and laughing, you’d love this book I’m giving away. […]

  5. Jenni says:

    At present, I’m reading a long story–God’s love story–written for us! aka The Bible! I’m following a yearly Bible reading calendar & have stayed on track! It’s sad to say, this is only the 3rd time I’ve read it cover to cover in my 57 years! “In its pages you will meet people who seem remarkably like you or like others you know. Their failures may be your failures. Their lessons may be your lessons. God’s Word uncannily–and unfailingly–tells it like it is and then tells us how it can be eternally better.”
    A few months ago I read Out Live Your Life, You Were Made to Make a Difference by Max Lucado. He talks about how God uses ordinary people to make a difference in this world. Did God use people like us back in the first century? He did! “Their collars were blue, and their hands were calloused, and there is no evidence that Jesus chose them because they were smarter or nicer than the guy next door. The one thing they had going for them was a willingness to take a step when Jesus said, “Follow me.” 100% of Max’s royalties for this book goes to World Vision and other ministries of faith-based compassion.
    **I have 3 books that I will read in the coming months: Jesus the One and Only by Beth Moore, Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo, and Radical by David Platt. If I can get those read in 2011, I’ll be doing good!

  6. Jenni says:

    (extra comment) “An Open Letter to Dental Hygienists” does sound hilarious! Little known fact::In 1974, I graduated from Lamar with a degree in Dental Hygiene; worked for a year, then started having babies & took care of their teeth instead!

  7. Jenni says:

    I know I did, too! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

