Catalyst Highlights

Posted: May 17, 2011 in Words

Every single time I’ve been to Catalyst, I’ve heard the phrase “trying to drink from a fire hydrant,” which is totally accurate. It’s two days of the best speakers in the country, delivering great messages full of Biblical truth, leadership advice, interesting facts and statistics- it can be overwhelming, so note taking is a must. Here are some of the best notes I took:

  • A single act of courage is often the tipping point for something extraordinary. (Andy Stanley)
  • Often this act of courage looks like: 1) Staying when it would be easier to go, 2) Leaving when it would be easier to stay, or 3) Asking for help when it would be easier to pretend everything is OK.
  • It is much easier to have an idea than to execute it. It takes a balance of creativity, organization, discipline and accountability. Most ideas never happen. (Scott Belsky)
  • In an increasingly “connected” world, it is important to “disconnect” for a few hours a day to get things accomplished.
  • Christians must remember: The Gospel is what saves you, The Gospel is what sustains you, and The Gospel is what will sanctify you. None of these things come from yourself. (Matt Chandler)
  • Heaven isn’t a place for people afraid of hell- it’s a place for people who love God. (Matt Chandler)
  • Don’t do things you’re not good at if someone else in the organization can do it better. Your weaknesses is somebody else’s opportunity. When I do things that I don’t do well, things don’t go well. (Andy Stanley)

Other points of interest:

  • Donald Miller gave the best talk on the life of Joseph that anyone has ever given. If I can find it, I’ll point you to it.
  • Run, of Run DMC- now known as Rev Run- was a good rapper, but is a terrible public speaker.
  • Tony Romo showed up and threw a couple of signed footballs into the crowd. If Craig had listened to me (“Go stand back there”) he would’ve come home with one.
  • www.CharityWater.org is a great organization, and you can get involved really easily.

And there was a ton more, but that’s a good start. I’ll probably digest and post more about the individual talks in days ahead.

Were you at Catalyst? If so, what was your favorite part. If not, just tell me something interesting you’ve learned recently.

Comments
  1. April says:

    I have been to Catalyst One Day a few times and it is amazing. I’m glad you’re able to go every year. I think it’s better than Leadership Summit – although I like it as well.

  2. Tyler says:

    I liked that we got free snappers and I got to throw them and stuff.

    Also liked everything else and your elegant magenta eyes.

  3. Rob Shepherd says:

    I went to Catalyst West and Catalyst in Atl. I think the program at Catalyst West was the same as Dallas. Loved it!

Leave a Reply

