Mother’s Day

Posted: May 8, 2011 in Words

Happy Mother’s Day, everybody! I hope you’re not actually reading this on Mother’s Day. You shouldn’t be online- you should be pampering god ol’ Mom.

In honor of this special day, I decided to post a list of seven things I love about my own mom. These aren’t the top seven things, just a random selection of qualities that make my mom better than yours special to me.

  1. She’s funny. And I don’t mean “cute like a little old lady and it makes us giggle.” I mean, my mom is a funny lady. She pokes fun at people, and at herself, she laughs hard, and she’s fun to be around.
  2. She cooks. From the time I was a kid, until the day I graduated high school, Mom cooked breakfast every morning. No Eggo waffles, no Pop Tarts. I’m talking bacon and eggs, or sausage and pancakes. And she cooked dinner four or five nights a week. I could probably count on one hand the number of times we went out for dinner instead of Mom cooking.
  3. She loves Jesus. For real, and a lot. She brought us to church every time the doors were open, has taught Sunday School for thirty years, and has talked to a bajillion people about Jesus. She’s the real deal.
  4. She loves broken people. When I was a kid, this drove me nuts. When our church van would make the rounds and pick up all the “bad kids,” they’d always want to sit by my mom in church. I hated it because I wanted to sit by my mom. Now I realize that they loved her because she loved them, and for a lot of those kids, she was the only adult around who did.
  5. She’s a servant. I can’t tell you how many times she’s gone out of her way, out of her comfort zone, and been totally inconvenienced to help someone else out. She’s totally selfless- to the point that sometimes people have to say to her, “No. You go take care of you.”
  6. She’s smart. Looking back at my childhood, it’s pretty obvious that my Mom’s an intelligent lady. And if she didn’t know how to do something, she could think through it until she figured it out. She’s got some pretty mad “critical thinking” skills. And she finishes the crossword puzzle every day.
  7. She’s creative. Not particularly artistically talented, but super-creative. When she was the director of Vacation Bible School at our church (which she did for about a hundred years), we weren’t allowed to throw anything away until she gave it the OK. You see an old Pringles can, a milk jug, a Kleenex box- she sees a ukulele that just needs some hot glue and rubber bands. There were lots of times that she would figure out a way to get things done, even if resources were slim.

And there are a thousand more things I love about my mom. She’s the best mom and grandma anybody could ever ask for.

I just wish she had the internet so she knew how I felt. Oh well…

Comments
  1. Jenni says:

    What a super special tribute to your super special mom! You (and she) are blessed! Thanks for sharing your love and admiration for your mother with us!

  2. Edwin Christian says:

    I’m sure you are as special to her as she is to you!

  3. Christy says:

    I wish I could be half as good a mom to my children as she was and is to hers. P. S. Hopefully someone printed your top 7 list out so she could read it. 🙂

  4. Judy Hall says:

    I’m pretty sure she knows how you feel because I just bet you told her! It is wonderful to see someone, especially a male, express how he feels about his mom. So often that seems to be taboo! “Real men don’t talk about loving their moms” Bologna!! I’m so thankful that my grandsons have you as a pastor to look up to, not that their fathers or grandfather are not worthy, but it’s two different sides of the coin.
    By the way, you think your mom might offer us some ideas for our children’s summer ministry??

Leave a Reply

