5000 Views and Compassion International

Posted: May 1, 2011 in Words

If traffic on this site stays steady, today will be the day it crosses 5,000 views! Thanks to every single one of you who come by here. I hope you have as much fun reading it as I do writing it, because I’m having a blast.

Later in the week, I’m going to do a giveaway in celebration of hitting this milestone, but first I want give you the chance to do something incredible-

You can help save a life.

Since last fall, Liz and I have been sponsoring a child through Compassion International. Her name is Ayu. She’s eight years old, lives in Indonesia, and for about the same cost as two meals out per month, Liz and I are part of the Compassion process that provides her with health care, educational opportunities, Christian teaching, hygiene training, food, and other needs that arise.

I’m sure you’ve heard statistics about world hunger, poverty, access to clean water, etc., so I won’t restate those here, but I would ask you to carefully consider sponsoring a child through Compassion. They are a respected and well run organization. All of their financial records can be accessed on their website, so there’s total transparency and accountability. They do great work in many countries, and with online giving and automatic payments, they’ve made it so simple that there’s really no reason not to do it.

If you look on the right side of this page, there’s a blue box you can click that will take you straight to the website where you can start the sponsorship process.

If you were to do this at a concert or conference, they’d give you a t-shirt or something as a thank you. So, if you click the link and sponsor a child, tell me about it in the comments section below. Tell me your sponsored child’s name, age and home country, and I’ll send you

  • A CD from my good friends, The Micah Tyler Band
  • Some candy (your choice)
  • A bad drawing of your favorite Bible story

I know it’s not much, but if you sponsor a child I want to say thank you. So, to recap- Click the link, sponsor a child, tell me about it in the comments section. You’ll be changing a child’s life, and get some free stuff from me.

I won’t try to make you feel guilty or manipulate you or anything, but you really can change a kid’s life by doing this. I hope you’ll get involved.

P.S. Please share this post with your friends and see how many sponsors we can get!

Comments
  1. Claudia Lowery says:

    I began sponssoring Archana in Nepal last fall, too. It has become a blessing to recieve letters from her. I was also very touched when she said she was praying for her Aunty Claudia. 🙂

  2. Edwin Christian says:

    Our childs name is Daphine Nyangoma. She is three years old and lives in Uganda. Thank you for leading us to a good Christian site.

  3. Kyle says:

    Good stuff Jared. Its crazy how God works, Sheryl and I decided last night to sponsor a couple kids from Ethiopia. I really enjoy your blog keep it up.

  4. Stacey Day says:

    Thanks for the info Uncle Jared. We sponsored a boy, Sando, from West Africa! One of our big goals for this year was to “give back & donate more”. LOVE what Compassion International has going on…

Leave a Reply

