Blogs I Like (Part 1)

Posted: April 30, 2011 in Words

I’ve had a couple of people recently ask me about other blogs I read, so here, in no particular order, is a list of the ones I visit regularly:

People I don’t know personally:


Until recently, Michael Hyatt was the Chairman of Thomas Nelson Publishers. His blog is loaded with information on four main topics: Leadership, Productivity, Publishing, and Social Media. His posts are always super practical, and really engaging. I’ve learned a lot about blogging and using social media as a leadership tool from his site.

_______________

Don Miller is the author of some great books you may have read- Blue Like Jazz, Searching for God Knows What, Father Fiction. He describes his blog as “a place to develop ideas or share tips on the creative lifestyle with other writers and thinkers.” There’s a lot of good stuff on there about what he refers to as “living a better story,” and a lot of good articles on writing/creativity.

_______________

He started off with just one blog, which is one of the funniest ones on the planet- Stuff Christians Like. After publishing a couple of books, he now also has one that’s focused on blogging and writing, often motivating, always encouraging.

_______________

P-No (which is what I’d call him if we were friends) is the pastor at NewSpring Church in South Carolina. As a pastor, I really relate to a lot of the things he writes about. You can tell he’s a really humble and wise guy. For example: if you’re familiar with the controversy surrounding Rob Bell’s latest book, read this.

_______________

Tyler Stanton makes up exactly 50% of the comedy duo Tripp and Tyler. He posts lots of funny thoughts and videos on his site, and also shares the space with his friends. Guests post often, which tells me that either: A) He’s very generous and eager to help his friends succeed, or B) He has trouble coming up with new content so he recruits his friends to do the work while his name stays at the top of the page. I’m sure it’s A, though.

_______________

OK, first let me say that some of you will love this guy, some of you will just be confused. This is absolutely my favorite blog I’ve ever found. Tyler Tarver is a math teacher somewhere in Arkansas, and in his spare time he writes funny stuff and makes funny videos. If you can watch this video without laughing out loud, you’re probably a cyborg.

_______________

That’s all for now. Later I’ll post about bloggers I actually know.

What about you? What are your favorite blogs to visit that are written by someone you don’t know? Leave a comment below. (P.S. Please leave comments here instead of on my Facebook link.)

Comments
  1. Edwin Christian says:

    I am not one who blogs. Being, a person who is more comfortable around animals than people, I am considered anti-social or weird, depending on who you ask. I write on Jared’s site, because I consider him my friend. He is always open to different approaches to looking at life.
    I have always been a loner, especially since my time as a sniper, but am working very hard to learn to get closer to people. With God’s help things are getting better and I thank friends like Jared for offering a place to share feelings

  2. Jenni says:

    Sometimes I read The Simple Wife– (update on her blog)On Jan. 11, 38-yr-old Joanne suffered a major stroke. She is no longer in a coma (praise God!) and is making significant progress each day on the long journey to recovery. Her husband is now writing her blog since she can’t. Before her stroke, she wrote several books & this quote is on her blog: “Living simply is not so much about the particulars of our lives as much as it is about the principles that govern them. Knowing what God has called you to do, and then doing it–that’s living simply.”
    Also, I like The Pioneer Woman. She’s written a book and recipe book, has a story in Guideposts and Ladies Home Journal, is a photographer–just a few of her talents.

  3. -Jamie the very worst missionary (The name says it all. It’s funny and has good insight)
    -Tyler Tarver (He makes no sense, nonsense, and complete sense all at the same time.)
    -Jon Acuff (It’s probably un Christian to not read SCL.)
    -Dave Trobbins (He’s sometimes funny, sometimes)

Leave a Reply

