“Repost This”

Posted: April 12, 2011 in Words

Have you noticed how many people lately are just copy/pasting their Facebook status?

“It’s Second Cousins Week! You only see them every couple of years at a family reunion or funeral, but you love them like best friends! I’m so thankful for my second cousins! Repost this if you are, too!”

“Feral Cat Diabetes kills hundreds of beloved pets every year. Repost this and help us put a stop to this horrible disease. Miss you, Sassy!”

I’m not here to judge, but come on gang. Facebook clearly asks, “What’s on your mind?” If you had an actual conversation go down like that, you’d slap somebody.

(at the church office)

Me: Hey, Kevin. Glad you came by. What’s on your mind?

Kevin: Canine Parvo.

Me: What?

Kevin: Canine parvovirus is a contagious virus that affects thousands of pets every year. It has two distinct presentations, a cardiac and intestinal form. The common signs of the intestinal form are severe vomiting and dysentery. The cardiac form causes respiratory or cardiovascular failure in young puppies. Vaccines can prevent this infection, but mortality can reach 91% in untreated cases. Say this with me for one hour if you or someone you know has lost a puppy to Parvo. Most people won’t do it.

Me: What are you talking about? Are you high? Let me see your eyes…

Kevin’s mom: Oh, honey. We all miss Rocky. I love you. Call me.

Me: Hey, Mrs. Arnold. Didn’t see you there.

Just tell me what’s on your mind. I don’t care what color your underwear is or where you like to put your purse. What’s on your mind? That’s the question at hand.

Comments
  1. Edwin Christian says:

    Things do have a tendency to get out of hand when someone suggests you repost if you agree. I usually delete them from my page since I think they are stupid. Another problem is when someone posts something like, “do you think rich folks should pay more taxes than we do– vote yes or no” or, “how do you pronounce Pecan?” and give you three or four choices to vote on. All that tells me is someone has too much time on their hands and needs to get a real job.
    I try to be understanding when it comes to posts like this but, I have to say I wonder where some of these folks were when it came time to get a brain. As my grandfather always said, “when the good lord said come and get your brain they thought he said train and passed because they didn’t want to take a trip.” Have a great afternoon.

  2. Travis Maines says:

    I wanted to click the “like” button but you don’t have one…

  3. Jenni says:

    ‘LIKE’

  4. Judy Hall says:

    Even though I have been guilty of doing just that on occasion, I do have to agree with you. I have pretty much stopped unless it is something that I truly believe or agree with. These things about voting for this or that, and sisters week, my pet roaches week, or whatever, I have to agree. If people have the time to come up with things like that, they need to get a real job, especially since most of those end up containing viruses.
    Also, Ed, I’ve never met you, at least I don’t think so, but, like Jared, you cracked me up!!
    Have a great night or day, depending on when you read this!

Leave a Reply

