Let’s do something together

Posted: April 3, 2011 in Words

Last week, I posted a couple of articles encouraging you to think creatively, and to actually be creative. Now, I want to try something, and it’s impossible without your help. Let me tell you what I’m thinking, then I need you to jump on board.

I know that a lot of you who read this blog are super-creative. You write, draw, paint, sew, photograph, edit, etc. I’d like to start hosting series’ right here on BDB. For example, we might do something like “Fruit of the Spirit” or “Days of the Week.” Then each week I’ll pick one word in that series and we’ll each create something using that word as a launching point. You could do a painting, write a poem, tell a story, sing a song, snap a picture- whatever. But it has to be your creation. Not a picture you found online, or a story you read somewhere. Your. Original. Creation.

If we do this, I’d ask you to commit to finishing a series. It would definitely take commitment, but that can only be a good thing. I hope you’ll seriously consider jumping in on this.

So, what do you think? Would you be a part of this experiment? Do you know anyone else who should be? Comment below if you’d be willing to participate, and invite anyone you’d like to.

I think this is going to be a lot of fun.

P.S. Donald Miller has a great series on his site called The Way of a Creator. I highly recommend reading some of these posts–> Click here

Comments
  1. Jenni says:

    Thinking…

  2. Judy Hall says:

    I would love to participate in this. I might get stumped trying to make a card or scrapbook page of certain words, but all I can do is give it my best! Sounds like a pretty cool idea!

  3. Travis Maines says:

    I just stumbled across ths site. Another instance of “I only am aware of this because of facebook”. I’m in for the project/group commitment. I’m not very creative but I’m in nonetheless.

  4. Edwin Christian says:

    I am willing to try, but as you know my mind has trouble keeping the point straight and has the tendency to wander. Then I sometimes lose my train of thought and leave out half the message. I will do what I can trying to remember to read everything over two or three times to make sure I did not leave anyhting out. You may have to make a correction or two in my grammer as sometimes my mind runs faster than my fingers can hit the keys.

  5. Craig says:

    Let’s do it! Can the first series be “Heretics”? I have a great idea for a Rob Bell magazine collage.

  6. Jenni says:

    The reason I posted “Thinking”…do I have time to do ONE MORE THING?? Sounds very interesting though! So, maybe…! I like being creative!

  7. Jessica W. says:

    Okay, I’m in 🙂

  8. Mandy Cooper says:

    I’m in. Not very creative, but I could probably manage to get Seth (or Bradley) to draw something. 🙂

  9. RDM says:

    I’m in. Can my medium change from week to week?

  10. […] Click here for the details—>Yeah, here. […]

  11. […] For details on what this is all about, click here —>(Let’s do something together…) […]

  12. Claudia Lowery says:

    I’m sorry, but I’m too busy eating snacks….JK…YES!

Leave a Reply

