Basketball

Posted: March 24, 2011 in Words

I’ve been watching a lot of basketball lately. The Rockets are trying to get into the playoffs and March Madness is in full swing, so I have to, right?

Liz hates basketball, but because she’s a good sport and she loves me, last night she sat down for a few minutes to watch the Rockets. I quickly found out how much my sweet bride knows about the sport. (Hint: Nothing.) This is the actual conversation we had:

Liz: Ugh, I hate basketball. How much longer til it’s over?

Me: A few months.

Liz: What?! No way. March Madness? It’ll be over soon, right?

Me: No, babe. This is the Rockets. March Madness is a college tournament. The NBA will play until summer.

Liz: Ugh…OK, so who’s on the Rockets?

Me: Well, Luis Scola, Kevin Martin, Chuck Hayes- do you just want to know everybody that plays for the Rockets?

Liz: No. Do they have anybody I’d know?

Me: Probably not. How many NBA players can you name? Come on. I bet you could name five guys playing in the NBA right now. Let’s go.

Liz: OK, um…Kobe Bryant?

Me: That’s one.

Liz: Does Shaq still play?

Me: Barely. That’s two.

Liz: (about a minute of deep thought)

Me: You’re kidding. You can’t think of one more?

Liz: I don’t know. Name some and I’ll tell you if I’ve heard of them.

Me: What about LeBron James?

Liz: Oh, yeah! I forgot about him. Keep going.

Me: Dwight Howard, Dwayne Wade, Kevin Garnett…

Liz: No, I don’t know any of those guys. (looking at the TV) Is that Larry Bird?

Me: Wow. He hasn’t played in twenty years.

Liz: Who was that crazy guy with the hair and he dressed real weird?

Me: Dennis Rodman?

Liz: Yeah, Dennis Rodman. Where’s he?

Me: Retired ten years ago.

Liz: I remember Michael Jordan. I know he retired but I know him. He played for the Chicago Bulldogs, right?

Me: The who?

Liz: The Bulldogs? Is that right? No, wait. That’s Jasper. The Bulls! The Chicago Bulls. And he played with Pistol Pete, I think.

Me: Pistol Pete?! (I’m laughing uncontrollably at this point.)

Liz: I don’t know. I saw a video about him once in P.E.

Me: He died in the 80’s.

Liz: I hate basketball. I’m going to bed.

Comments
  1. Jeanette says:

    That is HILARIOUS!!! I literally LOL! I’m not a big basketball fan but this yr have sat down and watched some games, mostly college. I def have to show this to mike. Thanks for the laugh!

  2. Jenni says:

    Liz, I’m right there with you!

  3. Theresa says:

    basketball? I got this. o.k. that’s the round orange ball or the oblong brown ball?

  4. Mandy Cooper says:

    I stopped watching basketball in the 90s, but this is hilarious!

  5. Matthew says:

    When Brianna and I were dating, she did a full book report on the Suns for so she would have something interesting to say. Too bad the info she got was from the Barkley era. At least she tried.
    She’s got so much better now. She could list both All Star teams probably…
    Liz didn’t know Yao Ming?

Leave a Reply

