Grouch

Posted: March 19, 2011 in Words

In case you haven’t noticed, I’m a pretty avid user of social media. I Facebook, I tweet, I blog. (I may be a dork, but I’m a very connected dork.) And like I said in a previous post, I try to stay conscious of how my words and actions affect people around me, and that includes online.

The way I see it, if you’re going to take the time to read my content, I want it to be beneficial in some way. I want you to be encouraged, amused, challenged. I want you to be glad you took time to pause, whether it’s for five seconds or five minutes. I guess that’s part of the reason it bothers me when people use social media as a platform for negativity.

Is this your profile pic?

I hate to read about what you hate. It’s annoying when you constantly post what annoys you. It drives me crazy when you repeatedly tell me who or what drives you crazy. I’m not saying you should never vent or complain- I understand that everyone has bad days, but when every day is a bad day, I’m tempted to unfriend or unfollow you.

And before you say anything, I realize the hypocrisy here- I’m writing a blog post complaining about people who complain. I get it. Save the comments. But my complaint comes with a silver lining, and it’s this:
Stop whining.

If you’re on Facebook, you have a lot to be thankful for. Focus on that instead of the proverbial fly in the ointment. You’ve got a computer, so you’ve got a house, which has electricity and water, and you’ve probably eaten more today than you should have, and you’ve got money in the bank and clothes and shoes- and I’m not trying to be preachy, I’m just saying don’t be such a whiner when things in your life are really pretty good. When you stop and consider the world we live in, is it really such a big deal that you spilled coffee on your favorite jacket, or that your favorite contestant got kicked off whatever show it is you’re watching?

Go back and look at your previous 25 posts or so and see how you’re doing. Are you a whiner? A complainer? If so, stop it.
“Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.” -Philippians 4:8
Comments
  1. Edwin Christian says:

    I have been called a lot of things in my life including a grouch. Over the years as I turned more and more of my life to Christ my temperment has changed to something you might consider more tolerant. However, to add humor to your post – God loves all of us including you and your grouchy moods. Have a great day Jared.

  2. mel oswalt says:

    Love it, so true !!!!

Leave a Reply

