Emergency

Posted: March 5, 2011 in Words

I always spend Fridays in the office. I finish studying for Sunday, finalize my notes, start looking ahead to Wednesday, make a few phone calls and visits if I can, but mainly Fridays are office days. Except for Elizabeth having a serious bout of morning sickness while she was getting ready for work, yesterday started like every other Friday- shower, coffee, head to the church, fire up the computer, open my books, spread out my notes, start reading and writing.

Then Liz called me while she should have been in class. She was sobbing. Her morning sickness had continued at school, wouldn’t stop, and was now accompanied by some pretty serious stomach pains. She called her doctor, he said get to the E.R. in Beaumont. I picked her up and off we went.

It took about an hour to get there, we checked in quickly and they got her into a bed. They started an IV, (By the way, I’m sure the guy that did the IV would be great a cleaning a fish or skinning a squirrel, but he definitely mangled my bride’s hand. He actually had to come back with a wet cloth and clean the small puddle of blood up off the floor.) drew some blood for testing, hung a bag of fluid, and then we waited. And waited. And waited.

A few hours went by and they sent us upstairs for an ultrasound to make sure the baby was ok. Everything looked normal and fine, so they called for someone to take us back downstairs to the E.R. So again, we waited. And waited. And waited. After an hour, the ultrasound tech said, “I’ll just go ahead and take you back down.”

And you know what we did once we got back downstairs? Yep. More waiting. Finally, after a total of six hours, the doctor came in and announced that everything was fine. All tests came back normal, all levels were perfect, baby looked good- go home and get some rest.

And that’s how we spent our Friday. I didn’t study, my notes aren’t done, I didn’t get to go have coffee with that couple- and I don’t care. Now it’s Saturday and I’m in the office doing the things I would have done yesterday. I called that couple and we’ll have coffee next week. Liz is spending the day with family- pedicures, painting, dinner.

I don’t have a moral or life lesson, I’m just thankful. For friends and family who pray. For a God that takes care of us. For doctors and medicine that made my wife feel better and assured us that she and our little one are fine. Just thankful.

Leave a Reply

